top of page
Search

It is well with my soul!

Updated: Jul 17, 2020


Horatio Gates Spafford lost his daughters on a ship in 1873. Even in the midst of sadness ... we can see God's care for us. Today, in the afternoon, I still felt my heart sink; meanwhile; I was watching the story of Horatio Gates Spafford; and after listening to the song he wrote: “It is well with my soul” (the will of God be done). I took a long, deep, and audible breath. When I least expect it, my daughter Jantiena Joy (22 months), who was behind me, appears in front of me and gives a long, deep and very audible breath (trying to imitate me). Then she laughs out loud, with a beautiful laugh. A surprise for me! I was so focused on my thoughts...

I couldn't contain my smile; and immediately, I gave her a big hug full of gratitude. Yes, there are several ways to deal with grief; and we are blessed when we open our hearts to a child's beautiful smile to console us; even unexpectedly. I try to do my best so that my daughters do not feel the grief of the loss of a son by a mother, but they certainly can understand that Mom sometimes has deep thoughts and more prayers. Yes, a children's empathy and a beautiful smile make us reflect on the love and daily and providential care of our good God. SDG!

"Horatio Gates Spafford was a prominent American lawyer and Presbyterian church elder. He is best known for penning the Christian hymn It Is Well With My Soul".



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page